An update on my bowels. Due to popular request…

My partner recently decided that beer and bread were the culprits of his reflux and heart burn.

He would be a dreadful, grumpy, pained inhabitant of Medieval Europe.Medieval_baker_with_his_apprentice

As a consequence, he has pretty much stopped consuming them – albeit with the odd relapse, just to make sure

This has had the knock on effect that I too have cut right back on my bread consumption. I love bread, almost as much as I love cheese and never thought I could live happily without it. Just the way I used to feel about cigarettes.

But live happily without it I have for the last couple of months, apart from the odd relapse… just to be sure.

This last week I have had bread twice and twice in the days following, I have experienced… if you’re queasy stop reading now…. runny bummage.

Partner and daughter bought me (and it turns out, them) a Nutribullet for my recent birthday and we all have been daily replacing meals with various nutrisquashies involving whatever is in the fridge and the fruit bowl

image

It’s a revelation

Sometimes TV shopping shows pay off

That’s how I ended up with one as a present. Partner couldn’t sleep one night and sat up watching hour long episodes of “Buy the Nutribullet”

By dawn he was converted

Liquidising everything in sight and consuming it through a straw has led to much reading and research about gut health and the benefits of squashie consumption.

A couple of days ago I started reading about kefir which is a fermented milk drink that is said to be nice to your tummy and poo tubes. And also a perfect addition to any nutrisquashie.

I have a work friend who, in the last 12 months, experienced a nasty infection that required him to be attached to a pump that constantly injected him with antibiotics for weeks.

Now his poo tubes are mental too and the doctors think it will take up to 2 years to become normal again.

Poo Tube friend has a nutribullet also, and I told him about kefir this week. So we are having a race to see who’s poo tubes become sensible first.

That’s our 2016 challenge: The Sensible Poo Tube Challenge.

Yesterday I bought a Mad Millie Kefir Kit for $21 and today on my lunch break I mixed up a litre of coconut milk kefir.

Partner watched on with a sceptical curl to his nose and a plethora of questions I’m not informed enough to answer.

 

Stay tuned for an update on the poisoned coconut milk

 

 

 

 

 

 

One thought on “An update on my bowels. Due to popular request…

Leave a Reply

